PDA

View Full Version : Low tech low light 2.5 gallon

jba6511
01-02-2016, 09:41 PM
I have a minibow 2.5 gallon that I have had a betta in for the last few months. It has a small heater that keeps the water temp around 74 degrees and I use the Aqueon filters for the tank (I was changing these about every 2-3 months but think that may be a bad idea now). I picked up a 10 watt Aqueon CFL bulb that I will be adding. Gravel is in their for now but if needed can be replaced. I was doing around 85% water changes each week but have been re thinking this as well. I am new to freshwater and looking for some help in determining what would work best in the tank. I want it to be as low maintenance as possible. Was looking at some Java Ferns and a Anubias nano as well as maybe adding a small piece of driftwood, but would love to hear some suggestions on what else would work in such a small tank. Also would like to hear any improvements that could be made/suggestions for overall maintenance/care. I tested nitrates, ammonia and nitrates today and everything was 0 if it helps.

awflip
01-02-2016, 10:21 PM
I would go with the Walstad Method for something like this, but post-setup you can only do your best to adapt your situation to model this method. The Walstad Method tries to emulate nature in your aquarium. As simply as I can explain this method is using dirt as substrate, and using plants to purify the water. The nutrients for plants come from the waste of the livestock (fish, snails, etc). In Diana Walstad's book Ecology of the Planted Aquarium (which is where the Walstad comes from), she claims to change ~25-50% water every 3-6 months! That is how effective this method can be once it is properly balanced (and if you ensure it is running properly). Of course you will need to do water top-offs. So basically, the plants filter the water for the fish, and the fish poop and give the plants nutrients to keep the water clean! (the nutrients in the fish poo come from food)