PDA

View Full Version : South Americans in a 125

Chibils
03-31-2016, 09:00 PM
I'm picking up a 125 in the next few weeks. It's 72 x 18 x 21, and it will house my dempsey and my pleco. I'm going to be picking up some cichlids to go in there with him, and at the advice of some others I'm thinking of smaller-but-scrappy south and central americans like firemouths or salvinis.

I'd like to do a small-ish group of severum, if it can be done, along with some congo tetras until my JD gets bigger. Aside from that I'm open to anything really. I think salvinis are beautiful but I have very little experience with most of the SA/CA cichlids. Geophagus are another one I'd love to try. The tank will be planted, but mostly anubias and mosses and such that can be attached to driftwood. The rest will be a couple of rosettes like swords potted in corners to keep any fish but especially geos from tearing it up. My JD isn't a huge digger but he'll tear up any plants that aren't bolted down. Most of the tank will be open water, just some smooth river stones scattered around and lots of driftwood. The lighting is 3 x Kessil A150W 'Amazon Sun' if the bright lighting matters to any possible fish suggestions.

How would you recommend stocking a tank like this? I don't want anything that's likely to kill my JD, as he's the centerpiece, but I don't want to fill the tank with punching bags for him either. Thank you very much.

Cheers
Scott

mountainman36
04-01-2016, 08:31 AM