PDA

View Full Version : Aerator for Sponge Filter

incredibleSE
09-21-2016, 07:20 PM
Hey guys. I'm starting a small 10 gal tank and will be running a sponge filter in it. This is my first time using a sponge filter in a tank. Does the capacity of the aerator matter to the function of the sponge filter? I have a used Tetra Whisper that's rated for 10 gal. Not sure if I needed some more umpf for better functionality for the filter.

bluefalcon505
09-21-2016, 07:42 PM
I would get one that's rated a little more and the ability to adjust the pressure you want it to be at. Also look into hamburger mattenfilter (HMF). This is mine. http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160921/6b98392e061b926fad0774161351bd89.jpg

bluefalcon505
09-21-2016, 07:43 PM
It's running by air pump

Demonfish
09-23-2016, 01:20 AM
Try it. You want a steady stream of bubbles, but not so much that water goes over the side. Do use a valve so you can adjust the flow. Adding an air stone is a personal preference, smaller bubbles are quieter, but stones need to be replaced periodically when they clog and the flow slows. More flow does help the filter, but you don't want to have to keep the tank half empty from turbulence. The other factor on the filtration effectiveness is the size of the sponge. A normal sponge if fine for a few fish, but you might want to go up to a bigger sponge if you are raising a lot of fry in a small tank. The mattenfilter is a sponge wall. Sponge filters with good water changes are very effective and fry safe.

You can tell you need a bigger pump when the flow slows or stops when the filter or just an air-hose from the pump is at the bottom of the tank. The "10 gallons" the pump is rated for means is should pump the bottom of the 10 gallon tank (10"), if it doesn't, get another pump (ask someone to bring one to the auction) or try replacing the diaphragm or other repair.

fishman
09-27-2016, 07:26 PM