PDA

View Full Version : Adding C02 to Fresh Water Aquarium



mlb06
12-29-2016, 01:42 PM
Hi Team,
I'm in the process of setting up a C02 dispenser to my 25 gallon fresh water aquarium. Will I have to shut off my airstone and powerheads I use to move water and power my undergravel filter?

Thanks,
Michael

HN1
12-29-2016, 04:30 PM
Powerheads should be fine as long as they don't create surface turbulence. Anything that does, especially an air stone will cause whatever you add to gas off and render adding it useless.

geotek
01-03-2017, 04:19 PM
Some surface movement is definitely okay though, since you need good water circulation to distribute the CO2 and avoid BBA outbreaks.