PDA

View Full Version : New here and new to sump type aquarium

Partsman41953
01-23-2017, 07:19 AM
Hi all,

I am new here and would like to say "hi" and ask you all for help on a 90 gallon aquarium with a 20 gallon sump. I now have a 10 gallon and 28 gallon salt water aquariums but they just have HOB skimmers. I am putting together a 90 gallon aquarium that is going to house some soft and hard coral along with some fish and would like an honest opinion and not a LFS store looking to sell what they have on their shelves opinion on what protein skimmer to use and what type of light to go with. I have limited size with my skimmer as I purchased a short stand thinking that it would easier to clean and not thinking that I would need the space under the stand for the skimmer. I have around 19 to 20" under my stand.

Also, I would like a dawn to dusk light that comes on gradually and goes off gradually.

Another thing I need to know since I am new at this is running the hoses from the tank to the sump and back. Since I am using a regular 20 gallon tank for my sump how should I set that up as well.

I know I am asking a lot of questions but like I said I have no clue at all how to set this thing up. I am not looking at top of the line equipment but decent equipment as I am trying to stay on a budget. I am looking to spend around $250 to $300 on a skimmer and around $300 for a light.

Thanks

aXio
01-23-2017, 09:30 AM
Hi all,