PDA

View Full Version : i'm a newbie...peat moss in planted tanks?

liz3
01-30-2010, 02:52 PM
Does anyone have any experience in creating a plant mix using something like 1/3 peat moss 1/3 marine sand & aragonite and 1/3 flourite then laying a 1/2 to 1" layer of flourite over top. does this sound wacky? yeah probably, but the thought of forking over $20 a bag for flourite to fill a 75g with a 2-3" bed gives me sticker shock. i have peat in my 20g with flourite and so far no troubles and things are growing great, but it has not been running terribly long. i guess i am kinda hybridizing different aquatic garden techniques. the thought of walstad's potting soil idea made me cringe. peat is a plant material, figured that might work. heck i don't know. someone tell me what i should do for a 75gallon substrate. do i just suck it up and buy flourite / eco-complete? i have heard of some folks soaking vermiculite and incorporating that in too. eventually, i would like to stock discus in the tank so i want to make sure the floor if the tank is appropriate. ideally, i would like to not siphon and so forth and have the flora do most the work of keeping the tank clean... sort of a Walstad concept. words of wisdom please :).

geotek
01-30-2010, 04:54 PM
You could use 1-2" of topsoil or pool filter sand with a .5" layer of pea gravel, aquarium gravel or flourite over the the top. I used topsoil out of the yard for a 20 gal with gravel over the top and 6 months later, no problems.
Pool filter sand with root tabs for crypts and swords also works. Aquarium plants dot com also sells a clay type substrate that is cheaper than flourite, but still way more expensive than a bucket of topsoil or some sand.
Will you have any digging fish planned?

Cratylus
01-31-2010, 04:25 AM