PDA

View Full Version : Still playing and trying to download a picture



g libby
02-07-2010, 01:21 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2720/4337321945_488557042e_m.jpglets see if I got it? I deleated the origional message. It just said I thought this was a different way to decorate a tank. I couldn't get to the server. I forget now but it was in a foreign language to me. Could it have been English?

Demonfish
02-07-2010, 01:53 PM
nope, the url isn't complete. try again and try to get the link all the way from the http to the .jpg . You do that and the Img tags should work since you are using them correctly.

Demonfish
02-07-2010, 02:06 PM
http://l.yimg.com/g/images/home_photo_aussiegall.jpg Right click on a picture, select copy image URL. Edit your post, click the Img button, put your cursor between the tags and paste (ctrl v)

Demonfish
02-07-2010, 10:50 PM
Its the size of the picture in its original location. Sometimes pictures are displayed bigger or smaller than the real size, but usually its just how many pixels wide x # of pixels tall.

g libby
02-08-2010, 10:55 AM
Its the size of the picture in its original location. Sometimes pictures are displayed bigger or smaller than the real size, but usually its just how many pixels wide x # of pixels tall.
Elaine, Did you pull the picture off the origional location or from the Flickr site I sent it to? If you sent it from my site, they should be the same. If you pulled it off the origional site-- Then how did you do it? I tried to copy it, then it ended up with a word document and didn't think that would work so I printed it. Then I scanned it as a photo which put it in the .jpg that I was able to use. I know that is wrong but it got me there. :rolleyes:

What this site needs is a tutorial on how to use it to it's best advantage. I assume you deleated your post with the picture. Best, George

Demonfish
02-08-2010, 01:09 PM
http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4066/4334647953_4546ebc89b_m.jpgI didn't delete it, i can still see it. It is just a random picture from one of the internet picture sites that I pointed to where it is.

Chris Noto
02-09-2010, 04:48 PM
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2720/4337321945_488557042e_m.jpglets see if I got it? I deleated the origional message. It just said I thought this was a different way to decorate a tank. I couldn't get to the server. I forget now but it was in a foreign language to me. Could it have been English?
Hi, George. I see you are having a bit of trouble with getting images in a post correctly. The scripting language that is used by the forum software that we are using is called Bulletin Board Code, or BBCode. There is a very good article here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBCode), at Wikipedia, and another, very good, BBCode Guide here (http://www.phpbb.com/community/faq.php?mode=bbcode).

I wonder, though, if are you using Internet Explorer as your browser? If you are using Firefox, there is a very good BBCode add-on for Firefox, named DM BBCode Extension, that you can find here (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/10481). It reduces the BBCode business to choosing from a menu for the particular operation you need, i.e., adding a link, an image, underline, italics, bold face, or quotation...

If the resources above don't get the job done for you, just say the word, and I'm sure we can sort it out.

All the best,
Chris Noto
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4214/avatarchrisnoto80x80.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2577/4134098234_541fe6afdc_m.jpg

g libby
02-10-2010, 12:14 PM
Hi, George. I see you are having a bit of trouble with getting images in a post correctly. The scripting language that is used by the forum software that we are using is called Bulletin Board Code, or BBCode. There is a very good article here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BBCode), at Wikipedia, and another, very good, BBCode Guide here (http://www.phpbb.com/community/faq.php?mode=bbcode).



All the best,
Chris Noto
http://img7.imageshack.us/img7/4214/avatarchrisnoto80x80.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2577/4134098234_541fe6afdc_m.jpg
Thanks Chris, I did get to post the picture. It is in the first post. It was not there origionally but I went back and edited the post when I found I left off a dot. Now my problem comes from trying to resize photos. When I am cutting to use a piece of a photo, I only get a blank section, but Hey, Did you teach me something I will know when I see my post.

OK, I did get the color but not the size. Still playing. Too big?

Chris Noto
02-13-2010, 06:56 AM
Did you teach me something I will know when I see my post.

OK, I did get the color but not the size. Still playing. Too big?
Nice, George! I haven't seen anyone else use the color thing here. :) I'm guessing, though, from the fact that the text size didn't change, that this forum software doesn't implement the full set of BBCode commands.

All the best,
Chris