PDA

View Full Version : several questions - lighting, and co2 addition amount of bubbles, and fertilizer

mountainman36
11-15-2011, 03:03 PM
Ok so im gonna really work on the tank this winter. i am ordering a 10lb cylinder and solonoid/regulator etc....

i have the 90gallon tank - like 75 but 24" deep already set up, and looking good, but ii think the growth on my crypts and the ludwigia is slow, and the java fern adn bolbitis is fine....also - i tried some micro sword and its dying back....

i have a 4x54 t5 strip on the tank, with new lights. its on about 13 hours a day.
i use flourish as a fertilizer.
lots of fish in the tank, but no major plant biters.
I use diy yeast co2 periodically, but its not working all that well right now...thus the new upgraded co2 unit

Ive kept fish for 20 years, and plant tanks about as long, and ive never had as much trouble growing the plants as i do now...i breed fish a lot too, so i have a lot of knowledge with all this stuff, but im stumped right now

so any suggestions as to what i may do differently..??

thx guys

Richard

geotek
11-15-2011, 11:53 PM
A 4 bulb HO t5 light with good bulbs in it will be way too bright to use all four bulbs without injected CO2, even in a 24" deep tank. I would recommend that you cut back to two bulbs until you have the CO2 levels set using a drop checker. Also, cut the hours of light back to about 8-10 per day. If the ludwegia is showing reds and oranges on the upper leaves, you have at least medium to medium high light situation and need to be adding nutrients.