PDA

View Full Version : Fert issues continue...

Igster
04-02-2012, 09:51 AM
While I am getting some new growth on some of my amazon swords(new leaves, not larger size), and some new leaves on my dwarf sags and ruffled aponogeton, I am still not seeing any appreciable increase of plant growth in my 55g tank. The leaves of the mad. lace plant have all went bye-bye(any new leaves that came out turned transparent), and the tuber(or whatever the root thingy is) is pearling(is that a good sign?). The giant val is dead or dieing. The only thing flourishing seems to be some wisteria - a floating one has gone crazy almost covering half of the top, while a rooted one is putting out new branches everywhere. Tank parameters are unchanged - ammonia, nitrates, nitrites at 0, pH at 6, kH at 17 units, gH at 0, co2 at 30ppm. Lighting - 2 x 54w T5 HO plant bulbs.

Oh, and my macro solution has developed bacteria - cloudy white stuff -I know it's not precipitate, I grow bacteria for a living at work :)

Pierre
04-02-2012, 10:46 AM
Your Nitrates are 0... therefore plants need some, I am aiming at 10 - 20 ppm. You may also need to add iron.

Igster
04-02-2012, 11:33 AM
Oh - fergot to add - substrate is about an inch & a half of fluorite, topped with regular gravel.

geotek
04-02-2012, 04:43 PM
You need to up your dosing amounts or frequency. The wisteria is using up most of the nutrients you are adding to the aquarium due to it's exposure to high light levels. Your nitrates should be at least 10 ppm with at least some gH. If you aquarium has been low on nutrients for a while, the fluorite will also absorb them out of the water column.

I don't think bacterial growth in your dosing solution will hurt anything, in the future you could add citric acid to reduce bacterial growth.

Swords take while to respond to increased nutrients, so as long as new growth looks healthy, just give it time.