PDA

View Full Version : Solar powered fish room?

schillbw
11-01-2013, 05:00 PM
Just wondering if anyone has tried to supplement their power bill with anything. I saw a solar power kit for $170 at BJs and thought to myself....I wonder if this could run part of my electronics. I'm no engineer and don't know squat about watt usage or anything like that. Maybe just run the lights? Air pump?

Any knowledge or advice would be helpful. Thanks.

ronv
11-01-2013, 05:09 PM
What is the output wattage. That should give you an idea. I know it depends on if the sun is shinning. During the night you have to use batteries or your normal house current and you will need to "switch" from solar power to backup power. Does the kit have that?

byork
11-01-2013, 05:45 PM
Can you put a link to this? I need to see it. Thanks

schillbw
11-01-2013, 07:49 PM
http://www.bjs.com/nature-power-72w-solar-power-kit.product.233628
It powers a battery? Could the battery be used to run anything in the room? Thanks

Mog Carns
11-01-2013, 09:21 PM
http://www.generatorsales.com/wattage-calculator.asp

caricell
11-01-2013, 11:52 PM
I'm no engineer, but I can almost guarantee you that this unit won't do much more than it;s intended for, which is to slowly charge 12v batteries (equivalent of a car battery.)

It's not made to *run* 120v AC pieces of equipment, such as pumps, filters, etc.

Plus, the cost of a unit like this would quickly negate any small savings you might possibly even see.

tristate
11-02-2013, 02:01 PM
an inverter takes 12v dc to 120 ac amps is what to look for not watts

caricell
11-02-2013, 03:54 PM
Ok, but these solar panels wont put out the kind of amperage to actually run this stuff. They are made for charging batteries. Even with an inverter...I cant imagine this would work.

Fishfilly
11-02-2013, 07:24 PM
Hi, Check out www.grideraser.com

I'm wanting a system that can run my tanks during a power outage and water my garden from my lake using solar to power the pump.

caricell