PDA

View Full Version : Hi from the Fabulous Fishfilly

Fishfilly
11-02-2013, 12:46 AM
I'm planning on coming to the meeting today !!/2/13, so I thought it best to introduce myself and come out of lurkdom. I live in Freehome, GA which is between Canton and Cumming with Alpharetta wrapping all around me so I usually say I live in Alpharetta. I'm a newbie to fish but the bug has bitten me bad. I'd say maybe 6 months!!! I'm in need of as much knowledge I can learn from the pros and those who have been fish keepers for a long time. I would like to learn about fish diseases, how to recognize and treat. I'm up with WC's and bought a Python gravel cleaner to make it easier on the old bod. With my first tank, a 29 gallon I was using 5 gallon buckets and a siphon that I kept getting fish water in my mouth..... YUK!!! I started googling everything I could and have spent more money on fish (not the fish) products and tanks, etc. Been looking into solar power to keep the fish alive in a winter power outage and also to use to pump water from my lake to my garden. I found a system on wheels that I found interesting. I could use it for the garden to pump water from the lake and then use it in the winter if needed. There has got to be a way to keep my babies safe from the dreaded power outage. In my profile I've listed the tanks and fish I have. I do have a "fish room" and then I also have an 80 gallon in my Breakfast room and my first tank the 29G is in my Foyer. I also had my Red Jewel Cichlids spawn in the 80g and I let them raise them in the tank with the other fish staying in the tank. They were such good parents that I now have about 150-200 juveniles about 1 1/2" and some that aren't getting as big as they r the last in the chow line. :ohmy: They are now in there own tank and I'm splitting them up into two tanks this weekend as I just bought another tank for the Africans freeing up an extra tank for the babes. Anyone interested in some babies????? They're real beauties!! We