PDA

View Full Version : Fish room do's & donts

stevenjohn21
12-28-2013, 06:53 PM
I'm in the process of moving house, although I have not found "the one" yet, it will have a basement so i can turn it into a fish room. I'm looking for tips from those with established fish rooms... If you were to start over in your room , what are the things you would change and things that are a must ?
I'm a total beginner when it comes to plumbing/electrical side of things and don't want to make errors that will cost me in the long run.
Thanks in advance

caricell
12-28-2013, 08:59 PM
-Make sure you have multiple 20 amp circuits in the room.
-If you are going to have any kind of floor covering, get an industrial grade (tight nap) carpeting with NO padding underneath (straight on the slab).
- Buy an industrial size blower, and wet-vac

Pierre
12-28-2013, 09:21 PM
Plan... Several months ago Larry Jinks did a presentation on his fish room. You definitely want to have a central air and WC system in place. Depending of your budget, you can even make the WC automatized. I would have a central air for heating as this will eliminate the need for one heater / aquarium and eliminate the risk "fish soup". I believe that Larry has a central filtering system and a separate generator in case of power failure.

I like a concrete slab slanted to the corner of the room to evacuate the water and avoid mold that may develop with humidity if you choose to have a carpet. Definitely have a faucet / sink in your basement and a fridge. And as Larry said, multiple amp circuits.

ahud
12-28-2013, 09:43 PM
I don't have a dedicated room yet, but I still spend time planning it lol. Heres what I found:

-Drill the tanks for easy water changes at a minimum.
-Really think about what you enjoy in the hobby, what types of fish, and if you like to raise fry. Use that info to select tank sizes/number of tanks. I often see post about people unhappy with their tank sizes.