PDA

View Full Version : Ammonia is off the charts in my tank!



Christian23K
04-18-2014, 11:12 PM
If you know how to treat this besides changing the filterpads, having a water change, and siphoning the gravel, please let me know=) thanks everyone

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk

Roger
04-19-2014, 01:17 AM
Several things you can do are lower the pH to upper 6's and it becomes non toxic. You can add zeolite to help. Use a chemical such as prime. The big thing will be if you have a nitrite bloom as it can be very deadly. Meth blue comes in handy for nitrite poisoning.

Pierre
04-19-2014, 08:42 AM
I can give you some floss filters that are already cycled. I would use stability and some AquaPure pearls (I have a few boxes left). PM if interested. I live in downtown Decatur.

HN1
04-19-2014, 08:45 AM
Nothing better for high ammonia than a water change(s) IMO. How long has the tank been set up?

caricell
04-19-2014, 08:56 AM
I use AMMO-CARB in all my filters. Never ever have an ammonia problem.

Larry


If you know how to treat this besides changing the filterpads, having a water change, and siphoning the gravel, please let me know=) thanks everyone

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk

Christian23K
04-19-2014, 08:59 AM
Thanks to everyone that responded, I have a 60 gallon tank that has been set up for about 6months "HN1"

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk

Mog Carns
04-20-2014, 11:23 AM
Don't change the filter pads.

The water change is a good choice.

peathenster
04-21-2014, 09:37 AM
Short term - large and frequent water changes
Long term - reduce bio-load and/or add more filtration.

What's the stock in that tank and what filter(s) are you using?

Christian23K
04-23-2014, 04:11 PM
Short term - large and frequent water changes
Long term - reduce bio-load and/or add more filtration.

What's the stock in that tank and what filter(s) are you using?

I currently have 5rams, 2oscars, 2angles, 2bloodparrots, 2pearl goramis, and 2 Plecostomuss....

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk

peathenster
04-23-2014, 05:45 PM
I currently have 5rams, 2oscars, 2angles, 2bloodparrots, 2pearl goramis, and 2 Plecostomuss....

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH Fierce using Tapatalk

That's quite a lot for the tank. I guess they are small? Not sure if the oscars will be happy long term.