PDA

View Full Version : Enough Oxygen?



keonetfish
07-09-2014, 04:29 PM
I recently removed a sponge filter from my 10g quarantine tank to put into another tank, so now the only thing moving water in the tank is a HOB filter which gives the tank a 15x turnover rate. I was wondering if that is providing enough surface agitation to provide the fish with enough oxygen because I only see ripples in the top of the water as I have the water level above the lowest point of the spillover mechanism part of the HOB filter. What's bothering me is I don't see any bubbles in the water from the surface agitation, so I'd like some reassurance on whether or not I have enough or whether I should add an air pump just to be safe.

ronv
07-09-2014, 04:54 PM
You are good. Movement of the water surface is much more important than bubbles.

keonetfish
07-09-2014, 06:16 PM
Ok. That's what I thought. Thanks :)