AquaRank.com

Upcoming Events for the Next 90 Day(s)

Thread: Under gravel filter + plants = bad idea?

Under gravel filter + plants = bad idea?

Hi all,

I'm new to fish keeping, although my father has been a fish breeder since way before I was born so I've sort of grown up around it.

Long story short, I'm striking out and getting my own tank (29H) and I trying to build the most stable environment I can.

My father swears by under gravel filters for the stability that they can provide and says that most plants will grow fine in regular gravel despite lacking the normal substrates (which would be too fine to use with the under gravel filter).

Will regular gravel work ok for most plants or are there some I should avoid unless I'm willing to abandon the undergravel? Are there any substrates that would be compatible with an undergravel filter?

Thanks for your help!

Plants and UG Filter is a no go! Just use a HOB Filter or even better a Canister Filter.

Plants need nutrients in the substrate to grow (roottabs or a nutriealized substrate (like flourish) or you can go the cheap way MTS "Mineralized Top Soil" (Organic Top soil washed and dried several times in the sun) with a cap substrate on top. With roottabs and flourish you have to dose your tank every day with Micro and Macro nutrients and CO2.
    With the MTS you don't have to dose only have to add CO2 or exell (or another gluteraldehyde base product like metricide).

Read everything about plants and much more on "The Planted Tank Forum". http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/